Matthew E. White main page

Matthew E. White Announces New Album K Bay, Shares New Song: Listen

“Genuine Hesitation” leads the producer and singer-songwriter’s first solo album since 2015’s Fresh Blood

By Noah Yoo


Matthew E. White
Matthew E. White, photo by Cameron Lewis

Matthew E. White has announced a new album, K Bay. The producer and singer-songwriter’s first solo album since 2015’s Fresh Blood arrives September 10 via Domino. Today’s announcement comes with the release of the lead single “Genuine Hesitation,” featuring footage shot during the album recording sessions. Watch that, and find the tracklist and album artwork for K Bay, below.

Earlier this year, White joined Alabama sculptor and experimental musician Lonnie Holley for the collaborative album Broken Mirror: A Selfie Reflection. The new solo album was recorded at White’s Kensington Avenue home studio (the titular K Bay), Montrose Recording in Richmond, Virginia, and his own Spacebomb Recordings.

01 Genuine Hesitation
02 Electric
03 Nested
04 Take Your Time (And Find That Orange to Squeeze)
05 Let’s Ball
06 Fell Like An Ax
07 Only in America / When the Curtains of the Night Are Peeled Back [ft. Joseph “JoJo” Clarke]
08 Never Had It Better
09 Judy
10 Shine a Light for Me
11 Hedged in Darkness

Matthew E. White K Bay