Yo La Tengo main page

Yo La Tengo Announce New Album, Share “Fallout”

[The Fader]

This Stupid World is due out February 10 via Matador.


Yo La Tengo, one of the last Great American Rock Bands © remaining from the Great American Rock Band Era ©, have announced their 17th studio LP. This Stupid World is due out February 10 via Matador, and its lead single, “Fallout,” arrived today (November 2) alongside news of the album. The New Jersey-formed trio of Georgia Hubley, Ira Kaplan, and James McNew will follow their forthcoming record’s release with an extensive three-month tour, starting mid February on the west coast and working their way across the United States before heading to Europe in April. And, of course, they’ll be playing their annual “Eight Nights of Hanukkah” residency in New York — this year at Manhattan’s Bowery Ballroom — from December 18–25.

“Fallout” is a characteristically spacey jam, four-and-a-half minutes of fuzzy bass (McNew) and guitar (Kaplan) backed by a propulsive drum beat courtesy of Hubley. “I wanna fall out of time / Reach back, unwind,” Kaplan sings on the chorus, his voice mild and superimposable as ever. “Before it gets too loud / Before it knocks me out / Fall out of time.”

Watch the lyric video for “Fallout,” check out This Stupid World’s cover art and tracklist, and view Yo La Tengo’s upcoming tour dates below.