Dawn Richard & Spencer Zahn main page

Dawn Richard and Spencer Zahn Announce New Album and Tour, Share Song: Listen

“Breath Out” leads Quiet in a World Full of Noise, the duo’s follow-up to Pigments


By Jazz Monroe

Dawn Richard and Spencer Zahn are back with a new album, Quiet in a World Full of Noise. The follow-up to 2022’s Pigments arrives October 4 via Merge. A North American tour will follow; check out the dates for that below, along with new song “Breath Out.”

Zahn began composing the album as an instrumental suite in New York, according to press materials. “I wrote all these stream-of-consciousness pieces on piano, and they were eerie, spacious piano tracks,” he said. Upon hearing them, Richard responded instinctively. “I did not write this down,” she said of her performance. “I purged it out, and then I didn’t change anything after it. Our family has a distorted view of therapy; I’ve had to do a lot of healing on my own. So this was a moment of severe openness, sharing that moment with the world.” Guests musicians include Bryan Senti, CJ Camerieri, and, on “Moments for Stillness,” the Budapest Film Orchestra.

Quiet in a World Full of Noise:

01 Stains
02 Quiet in a World Full of Noise
03 Traditions
04 Diets
05 Stay
06 Life in Numbers
07 Moments for Stillness
08 The Dancer
09 Breath Out
10 To Remove
11 Ocean Past
12 Try